You can switch to another user or user group and reload the permission settings in the running client.

Switching Users

To perform specific tasks on the running workstation you might need different permissions. For this, you can quickly switch the user you are currently logged in as and log in as a different user without having to restart your client.

  • The Siveillance Control client is displayed.
  1. In the menu bar, select File > User Login.
  • In the Current User Login section, the user who is currently logged in and the user group which the user is assigned to are displayed.
  1. In the New User Login section, you have the following options:
  • User: Enter the username you want to switch to. To switch to the standard user that is available by default on the client, select standard in the User text field.
  • User Group: If the user you want to switch to is assigned to multiple user groups, select one of the user's user groups and click Finish. Otherwise, keep the default settings. To switch to the standard user group that is available by default on the client, select Standard in the User Group text field.
  • Password: Enter the user's password.
  • In the New User Login section, the user and, if necessary, the user group you want to switch to are displayed.
  • If the username or password are incorrect, an error message is displayed in the dialog box and an entry is created in the operator log.
  • After three unsuccessful login attempts, an alarm message is generated in the Events/Messages perspective and is distributed to all workstations. To set the alarm status to quiet, right-click the message in the Message List view and select Set Alarm State to 'Quiet'.
  1. Click Switch User.
  • The Progress section displays the progress in processing and applying changes.
  • The selected user is currently logged in and a corresponding entry appears in the Operator Log perspective.

Switching User Groups

If you are assigned to more than one user group, you can switch to a user group to perform an action that requires a higher permission level than the user group you are currently using.

  • The Siveillance Control client is displayed.
  1. In the menu bar, select File > User Login.
  • In the Current User Login section, the user who is currently logged in and the user group which the user is assigned to are displayed.
  1. In the New User Login section, you have the following options:
  • User: Keep the default settings.
  • User Group: Select the user group you want to switch to and click Finish.
  • In the New User Login section, the user group you want to switch to is displayed.
  1. Click Switch User Group.
  • The Progress section displays the progress in processing and applying changes.
  • The selected user group is currently logged in and a corresponding entry appears in the Operator Log perspective.

Refreshing User Permissions

You can reload all permission settings for the user which is currently logged in and the user group which the user is assigned to through the server. Based on the permission settings changed in the engineering client, you can update the user interface in this way.

  • The Siveillance Control client is displayed.
  1. In the menu bar, select File > User Login.
  • In the Current User Login section, the user who is currently logged in and the user group which the user is assigned to are displayed.
  1. To refresh your permissions, keep the default settings in the New User Login section and click Refresh Permissions.
  • The Progress section displays the progress in processing and applying changes.
  • The user interface reflects the new permission settings.